Futsal

For those who don’t know, Futsal is a version of indoor soccer.

Some things never change. Today after class I played with a group from Wisma Bahasa.  It was super fun and has me in a relaxed, reflective mood this evening.  Since high school I’ve played for hundreds of hours on the Palouse, with geniuses near the Charles, and on overcrowded volleyball courts and gravel fields in China.  Through soccer I’ve discussed Iranian politics, been stranded in rural Oregon, and felt both threatened and (much more often) welcome for being the only white guy in sight.

I’ve played other sports and loved them, but this is the one I will always come back to.

2 thoughts on “Futsal

  1. Andy, I am so delighted to read your posts. I am entertained, inspired, and proud to be your mother. What amazing and incredible experiences you are having! Thank you for writing. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

