Walk in Yogya

With all of my studying, I haven’t had much time for photos lately. However, I did take a few on my first walk to class a week ago.  I walked three miles from near the Tugu train station, my longest exploration in Yogya so far. I’ve really been holed up in my room but that will change drastically after my last class tomorrow.

I’m experimenting with some new techniques on my blog today. Below I hope you will see a google map, but you may only see a link to a google map because that’s what I see in the preview of this post. Fingers crossed it will look right when it goes live. I’m also hosting my own photos instead of using Flickr as I have in the past, since I was nearing Flickr’s 200 photo limit for a free account. It’s $25/year for an upgrade! Next nothing for everyone with jobs out there and well worth Flickr’s services, but that’s big bucks for me now. Hosting photos myself is more complicated and takes longer, and you can no longer click on the photos to see them on Flickr, but that’s fine with me. Time I have, money I do not.

So if this works right, you are looking at a map of Yogyakarta with lines showing my walking routes to class and markers for personal places of interest like Anda Losmen (where I stayed the first night), Homestay Heru (where I’m staying now), and Wisma Bahasa.

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=205839129175553475167.0004b6a52187a95b877e9&ie=UTF8&t=h&vpsrc=1&ll=-7.78173,110.378945&spn=0.016625,0.029096&output=embed
View Yogyakarta Walk in a larger map

IMG_5574.JPG

View down the alley toward Anda Losmen

IMG_5577.JPG

Garbage Truck

IMG_5578.JPG

Yellow road block for train tracks, train station in the distance.

IMG_5580.JPG

Just a bit up the road from that last one, looking back at the train station.

IMG_5582.JPG

Construction site with mosque in the distance. Did I mention this walk was just after sunrise?

IMG_5583.JPG

Here is the monument that the Tugu train station is named after. Not sure what it's a monument to.

IMG_5590.JPG

Houses near the river (river is to the right out of frame).

IMG_5601.JPG

Gunung Merapi in the distance. Hoping to climb that bad boy in a few days.

One thought on “Walk in Yogya

  1. Hi Andy! Thanks for the update. I didn’t get the map, just the llink, but it worked perfectly, so I could match the photos with your walk. Let us know when you climb that mountain. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

