Georgetown

Georgetown was awesome. The food alone was amazing, and I was also starting to feel back on the beaten travel track, a welcome change after starting to feel isolated in Indonesia. I only stayed one night, so I ate twice as much as usual to take full advantage of food other than boring fried Indonesian food.

IMG_7293.JPG

Wait, where am I again?

IMG_7299.JPG

Must have been a fun night at the reggae bar.

IMG_7322.JPG

I wandered into an awesome Chinese market.

IMG_7312.JPG

Haven't had baozi in such a long time!

IMG_7328.JPG

Someone likes fish.

IMG_7337.JPG

Full service offered at this place, they take the scales off and chop it up after you buy.

IMG_7341.JPG

Lots of veggies too.

IMG_7365.JPG

People with physical disabilities often turn to begging out here without the social safety nets we have back home.

IMG_7372.JPG

Mmmmm meat.

IMG_7373.JPG

Garlic and onions.

IMG_7380.JPG

Haggling.

IMG_7393.JPG

Coolest beard ever.

IMG_7370.JPG

Buddhist monks are a common sight in Georgetown.

IMG_7376.JPG

This guy was selling bracelets.

IMG_7378.JPG

So much orange.

IMG_7397.JPG

Sometimes Georgetown looks 100% like China.

IMG_7399.JPG

--

IMG_7408.JPG

Sometimes it looks like...not China.

IMG_7408-2.JPG

Take a closer look at that last one.

IMG_7415.JPG

I think I'm not in Indonesia anymore.

IMG_7417.JPG

Some buildings show their age, as expected in a colonial town.

IMG_7423.JPG

China meets India in Georgetown. In this case, India is not impressed.

IMG_7425.JPG

Tourists are all over the place too. Do I really stand out as much as these guys?

IMG_7433.JPG

I won't get to visit India on this trip, so little India will have to suffice.

IMG_7436.JPG

I hope this marketing strategy works better here than it would back home.

IMG_7440.JPG

I really felt like I was in India seeing people dressed like this, the smell of incense wafting by, and Bollywood music blaring.

IMG_7443.JPG

Coconut. Doesn't get any fresher.

IMG_7444.JPG

Truly delicious and authentic Indian food. Not what I'd usually call finger food, but with no silverware that's what it was.

IMG_7446.JPG

The Indian restaurant I ate at, highly recommended. The guy sitting across from me had been eating here since he was a small kid. Now he lives and works in Australia. He's just back visiting his family for a week, and guess where he goes to eat? Oh yeah, this place is good.

One thought on “Georgetown

Leave a Reply

